Paperlight compared

Paperlight next to Vellum, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Kindle Create, Draft2Digital and Lacuna, on one page. Narrow it to the ones you’re choosing between.

Compare with
Paperlight compared with Vellum, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Kindle Create, Draft2Digital, Lacuna
FeaturePaperlightVellumAtticusReedsy StudioKindle CreateDraft2DigitalLacuna
PriceWriting and ebook free; print $24 a year$249.99 once ($199.99 for ebooks only)$147 onceFreeFreeFree; ~10% of ebook sales if you distribute with them$149 once
Try before payingEverything free except the print filesFree to build and preview30-day money-back guarantee; no free trialFreeFreeFreeEverything free until you export
Runs onAny computer, in your browserMac only (macOS 13 or newer)Windows, Mac, Linux, ChromebookIn your browserWindows or Mac, a downloadIn your browserWindows, Mac, Linux, a download
AccountNoneNot stated by VellumRequired; online to sign in and exportRequiredA KDP account to publishRequiredNot stated by Lacuna
Writing your bookYes, free: outline, goals, story bible, versions, focus modeAn editor for changes, not built for draftingA full writing appA free writing appImport a finished manuscriptUpload a finished manuscriptImport a .docx
Book styles129, plus a full style editor with 540 drawn ornaments, 97 ornate letters in any colour and page frames2617 templates, plus a theme builder34 ebook themesTheir set of templatesPremade styles, or customise your own
Trim sizes28, pocket to A4, square, landscape, plus custom24, plus large printNot stated by Atticus4, including pocketNot stated by Kindle CreateA selectionNot stated by Lacuna
Print files forAmazon KDP, IngramSpark, B&N Press, Lulu, BookvaultPrint-ready PDFPrint PDF, made mainly for Amazon KDPPrint-ready PDFAmazon KDP only (a KPF file, not a PDF)Print-ready PDF for any print-on-demand servicePrint-ready PDFs for the major distributors
IngramSpark PDF/XYes, converted in your browser (beta)Yes, PDF/X-1aNoYes, PDF/X-1aNoNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Large print, hardcover, colourYes, all threeYes, all threeNot stated by AtticusNot stated by Reedsy StudioHardcover yes; large print noNot stated by Draft2DigitalHardcover yes
Box setsYes, kept in step with their booksYesNot stated by AtticusNot stated by Reedsy StudioNot stated by Kindle CreateNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Where your book is keptIn your browser, and a folder you chooseOn your MacAtticus cloud, synced between devicesYour Reedsy accountOn your computerYour Draft2Digital accountOn your computer, no cloud

— means the company doesn’t publish it and we couldn’t confirm it. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Sources

Products change, so check their sites for the latest.

Why authors choose Paperlight

  • You want to write your book free and pay only when it’s ready.
  • You’re on Windows, Linux or a Chromebook, or you’d rather not install anything.
  • You print with more than Amazon: IngramSpark, Barnes & Noble Press, Lulu or Bookvault.
  • You want more styles and trim sizes, or to design your own style.
  • You want large-print, hardcover, colour and box-set editions from one manuscript.
  • You want your saved PDF checked against each printer’s rules before you upload.
  • You’d rather not create an account or upload your manuscript.
See your book free

Print files $24 a year.