Paperlight or Atticus?

Atticus is a writing and formatting app with a one-time price of $147. Paperlight is too: write your book free, or bring the Word file you’ve finished, see every page of the book free, and pay $24 a year when you want the print files. At that price it would take more than six years to spend what Atticus costs on day one.

Here’s Atticus next to Paperlight and the other popular tools. The full comparison.

Compare with
Paperlight compared with Atticus, Vellum, Reedsy Studio, Kindle Create, Draft2Digital, Lacuna
FeaturePaperlightAtticusVellumReedsy StudioKindle CreateDraft2DigitalLacuna
PriceWriting and ebook free; print $24 a year$147 once$249.99 once ($199.99 for ebooks only)FreeFreeFree; ~10% of ebook sales if you distribute with them$149 once
Try before payingEverything free except the print files30-day money-back guarantee; no free trialFree to build and previewFreeFreeFreeEverything free until you export
Runs onAny computer, in your browserWindows, Mac, Linux, ChromebookMac only (macOS 13 or newer)In your browserWindows or Mac, a downloadIn your browserWindows, Mac, Linux, a download
AccountNoneRequired; online to sign in and exportNot stated by VellumRequiredA KDP account to publishRequiredNot stated by Lacuna
Writing your bookYes, free: outline, goals, story bible, versions, focus modeA full writing appAn editor for changes, not built for draftingA free writing appImport a finished manuscriptUpload a finished manuscriptImport a .docx
Book styles129, plus a full style editor with 540 drawn ornaments, 97 ornate letters in any colour and page frames17 templates, plus a theme builder2634 ebook themesTheir set of templatesPremade styles, or customise your own
Trim sizes28, pocket to A4, square, landscape, plus customNot stated by Atticus24, plus large print4, including pocketNot stated by Kindle CreateA selectionNot stated by Lacuna
Print files forAmazon KDP, IngramSpark, B&N Press, Lulu, BookvaultPrint PDF, made mainly for Amazon KDPPrint-ready PDFPrint-ready PDFAmazon KDP only (a KPF file, not a PDF)Print-ready PDF for any print-on-demand servicePrint-ready PDFs for the major distributors
IngramSpark PDF/XYes, converted in your browser (beta)NoYes, PDF/X-1aYes, PDF/X-1aNoNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Large print, hardcover, colourYes, all threeNot stated by AtticusYes, all threeNot stated by Reedsy StudioHardcover yes; large print noNot stated by Draft2DigitalHardcover yes
Box setsYes, kept in step with their booksNot stated by AtticusYesNot stated by Reedsy StudioNot stated by Kindle CreateNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Where your book is keptIn your browser, and a folder you chooseAtticus cloud, synced between devicesOn your MacYour Reedsy accountOn your computerYour Draft2Digital accountOn your computer, no cloud

— means the company doesn’t publish it and we couldn’t confirm it. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Sources

Products change, so check their sites for the latest.

Why authors choose Paperlight over Atticus

  • You want to write for free and pay only when the book is ready.
  • Your manuscript is already finished in Word, or you want to keep writing in Word.
  • You want to see your whole book laid out before paying anything.
  • You print with KDP, IngramSpark, B&N Press, Lulu or Bookvault and want the PDF checked against their rules.
  • You’d rather not create an account or upload your manuscript.
See your book free

Print files $24 a year.