Paperlight or Kindle Create?

Kindle Create is Amazon’s free formatting tool, and its print files only work on Amazon KDP. Paperlight makes one print-ready PDF for Amazon, IngramSpark, Barnes & Noble, Lulu and Bookvault, plus an ebook for every store, with footnotes, 129 styles plus your own and a check of the finished PDF.

Here’s Kindle Create next to Paperlight and the other popular tools. The full comparison.

Compare with
Paperlight compared with Kindle Create, Vellum, Atticus, Reedsy Studio, Draft2Digital, Lacuna
FeaturePaperlightKindle CreateVellumAtticusReedsy StudioDraft2DigitalLacuna
PriceWriting and ebook free; print $24 a yearFree$249.99 once ($199.99 for ebooks only)$147 onceFreeFree; ~10% of ebook sales if you distribute with them$149 once
Try before payingEverything free except the print filesFreeFree to build and preview30-day money-back guarantee; no free trialFreeFreeEverything free until you export
Runs onAny computer, in your browserWindows or Mac, a downloadMac only (macOS 13 or newer)Windows, Mac, Linux, ChromebookIn your browserIn your browserWindows, Mac, Linux, a download
AccountNoneA KDP account to publishNot stated by VellumRequired; online to sign in and exportRequiredRequiredNot stated by Lacuna
Writing your bookYes, free: outline, goals, story bible, versions, focus modeImport a finished manuscriptAn editor for changes, not built for draftingA full writing appA free writing appUpload a finished manuscriptImport a .docx
Book styles129, plus a full style editor with 540 drawn ornaments, 97 ornate letters in any colour and page frames4 ebook themes2617 templates, plus a theme builder3Their set of templatesPremade styles, or customise your own
Trim sizes28, pocket to A4, square, landscape, plus customNot stated by Kindle Create24, plus large printNot stated by Atticus4, including pocketA selectionNot stated by Lacuna
Print files forAmazon KDP, IngramSpark, B&N Press, Lulu, BookvaultAmazon KDP only (a KPF file, not a PDF)Print-ready PDFPrint PDF, made mainly for Amazon KDPPrint-ready PDFPrint-ready PDF for any print-on-demand servicePrint-ready PDFs for the major distributors
IngramSpark PDF/XYes, converted in your browser (beta)NoYes, PDF/X-1aNoYes, PDF/X-1aNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Large print, hardcover, colourYes, all threeHardcover yes; large print noYes, all threeNot stated by AtticusNot stated by Reedsy StudioNot stated by Draft2DigitalHardcover yes
Box setsYes, kept in step with their booksNot stated by Kindle CreateYesNot stated by AtticusNot stated by Reedsy StudioNot stated by Draft2DigitalNot stated by Lacuna
Where your book is keptIn your browser, and a folder you chooseOn your computerOn your MacAtticus cloud, synced between devicesYour Reedsy accountYour Draft2Digital accountOn your computer, no cloud

— means the company doesn’t publish it and we couldn’t confirm it. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Sources

Products change, so check their sites for the latest.

Why authors choose Paperlight over Kindle Create

  • You also publish with IngramSpark, Barnes & Noble, Lulu or Bookvault, or sell ebooks on Apple, Kobo and Google.
  • Your book has footnotes.
  • You want more choice in how the book looks, or a large-print or box-set edition.
  • You’re on a Chromebook or Linux.
  • You’d like to write the book in the same place, free.
See your book free

Print files $24 a year.